Saturday, September 13, 2014

Singer Sagarika Deb honored with 'Rajiv Gandhi Excellence Award'

For outstanding contributions in various fields of society, 21 people have been conferred with the Rajiv Gandhi Excellence Award this year. The list includes famous pop singer Sagarika Deb from New Delhi. 

The program was held at the Constitution Club in New Delhi on 9th September and Sagarika has been honored with a certificate  & trophy for her outstanding contribution to Pop Music, Animal Rights and Women Empowerment. 

On this occasion Sagarika says, I am honored to be receiving such a prestigious award for my work so far. To be sharing the stage with so many esteemed personalities is a privileged for me. To know that my work could have inspired people and specially girls to move ahead is overwhelming. I will continue to pour my heart to my work and hope to inspire people in the future too. It has been an honor to be honored by the Prestigious Rajiv Gandhi Excellence Award and I want to thank my family, team members, organizers and the selection committee.

The awardees were honored by J.P Agarwal (Ex President DPCC of Congress Committee), Mrs. Shobha Oza (National President of 'All India Mahila Congress'), Mrs.Mamta Sharma (Ex.Chairperson, National Comission for Women, Govt of India), and Mr. KH Muniyappa (Member of Parliament/Former Union Minister, Govt of India), Mrs.Arpita Bansal (Managing Director of Creative Next Pvt. Ltd.) and Mr.Ramprakash Verma (Editor in Chief, Times India News & Seemapuri Times). 

Other prominent people receiving the award this year are Cricketer Chetan Sharma, National Hockey Coach SAS Naqvi, IAS Officer Sanjay Alang, Police Officer Arvind Kumar Sharma, Media Journalist Amitav Srivastava, Film Producer Rakesh Babbal, and many more.