Thursday, January 30, 2014

Curtains drawn at Indian International Film Festival of South Africa -IIFFSA 2014 in Johannesburg

Pune's Dr. Mohan Agashe won Best Actor Award for Film Aastu and Marathi Actress Vina Jamkar won best Actress for movie Tapal in IIFSA 2014.

The Indian International film festival of South Africa (IIFFSA) by Utkarsh Projects had a glittering start in the presence of a galaxy of stars on a huge platform.The opening ceremony was graced with a tribute given to Nelson Mandela followed by National anthem of South Africa and India. Ganesh Vandana was recited by the well-known actress Amruta Subhash to glitter this occasion.

The function was cultured with a lighting ceremony performed at the hands of chief guest Mr. Virendra Gupta, Indian High commissioner South Africa, Guest of Honor Ms. Hendrietta Bogopanezulu , Deputy minister, Women & Children with Disabilities, Mr. Joe Mafela, Legendary South African actor, writer, director, producer, singer and businessman and Special Guest - Mr. S P. Balsubramaniam, an eminent playback singer Indian Film Industry.

The event was greeted by addressing a welcome speech by Mr. Virendra Gupta. He said, "A token of appreciation and a special thank to IIFFSA for the recognition of talent not just from Bollywood but also from regional cinema. We need to promote the film industry which has a huge potential for providing job opportunities."

The grand opening ceremony began with a scintillating performance by a Zulu Dance that was presented by some local artists. The event was staged with some mesmerizing performances by actress Amruta Subhash that entertained all her fans with some glorious numbers.

The event was rejoiced by a splendid skit enactment by talented Marathi actors like Mr. Mangesh Desai, Mr. Vijay Kadam, Ms. Amruta Subhash, Thantele. The Indo African Fusion dance called 'Anusuya' brought a glory to the entire event as it conceptualized the unity built amongst the African and Indian culture.

S. P Balsubramaniam was bestowed with the Outstanding Achievement Award at the hands of Host and Festival Director Rajiv Terwadkar and Mr. Dinesh Naidu - Director Serendipity tours. IIFSA gave tribute to him by playing a 3 minitue medley of his famous songs from Bollywood industry.The renowned singer enchanted the crowd with his magical voice. He sung his famous songs from different Indian languages. medley transporting the eager listeners to another world. On this occasion he shared his emotions , " I am very grateful to be here to see the harmony of the culture in 2 countries, IIFSA 2014 is giving platform to Cultural Fusions. IIFSA is bringing culture together by doing this kind of events , I am sure this will take on high level by showcasing new talent as well renowned stars and their performances. This is great to see Indian films are screening here and South African Film industry also showcasing their talent . I wish all organisers of IIFSA all the best and would like to take this talent to Indian Cinema."

The ceremony was followed with the award function where renowned film-makers, actors, producers, directors from film industry were awarded for their outstanding work.

The winner of the Best film in short film category for India , for Maharashtra was awarded to 'Shuruaat' directed by Suresh Shelar at the hands of Mr. Thinus Leroux, Owner of Coachman Coaches.

An award for the Best film in Documentary film category for South Africa was given to film Sobukwe - A great Soul directed by Micky Madola Dubey at the hands of Mr. Shreeni and Sajit, Owner Bombay Blues Restaurant.

Award for the Best Actress for India was awarded to Actress Vina Jamkar for the movie Tapal & Best Actress Award for South Africa Awarded to Jay Anstey for the film Slippers Wake at the hands of Mr. Ashok Thakur (CEO Mahindra & Mahindra ) and Mbalenhle Mlotshwa, actress of South Africa.

4The award for the Best Actor India, Maharashtra Mr.Mohan Agashe for the movie Aastu and Best Actor South Africa to John Henry Opperman for the film Musiek Vir De Agtergrond the hands of Hanita Motheli, Owner of Shonalanga Resort and Joe Mafela, renowned legendary actor.

A very prestigious award for the Best Director India went to Salim Ahmed for the movie Kanjunathan Kada and Award for the Best Director South Africa went to Sallas De Jager for the film Musiek Vir De Agtergrond at the hands of South African well known actor Clint Brink and Amit Pansari, Astrum Representative.

Award for the Best Feature film India went to movie Lesson in forgetting directed by Unni Vijayan and award for the best feature film South Africa was awarded to movie Verraaiers Directed by Paul Eilers at the hands of Mambato Ramagoshi, Chairman N F V F (National Film and Video Foundation), and Ms. Hendrietta Bogopanezulu, Deputy Minister of South Africa for Women and Children for Disabilities.

Jury members were felicitated which included Actor Mangesh Desai, Santosh Pathare, Prasad Khatu.

The audience were revitalized and entertained with various dance performances by professional and local artists like Ninja Dance, Tshwana Dance and Flexibility dance, during the event.

"Firstly I would like to congratulate all the awardees for their achievement in various spheres and also thank all the invites for their great presence at the function and a token of appreciation to all the partners, sponsors, the media, the IIFFSA team and most importantly the delegates for making IIFFSA 2014 a grand success", said Mr. Rajiv Terwadkar.